Aldergrove Cup

Posted by Aldergrove Minor Hockey on Feb 16 2017 at 07:10PM PST

“Aldergrove Minor Hockey Association completed the first ever Aldergrove Cup on Monday night with Brent Carlson’s team taking the playoff finals 2 games to none over James Neuber’s team. The final score was 7-0. Carlson’s team was led by the scoring of Alex Walton who also won the regular season scoring title. The team had big efforts in the final game from Noah Van Santen and Mikey Paul had the shutout in the victory.

Playoff MVPs were selected by the coaches and awarded to Matt Wright and Jackson Stephenson.

The Aldergrove Cup was an 8 game regular season played by the Midget C teams of the AMHA. After a regular season of 8 games, the top two teams held a playoff round to determine the champions. The concept of the league was discussed two years ago by Aldergrove midget coaches Tim Stephenson and Mitch McDonald. It was an effort to give the players more games and more competition. This season, with the help of AMHA executive member Kevin Hollins, Stephenson spearheaded the league and was on hand to present the trophy to the winners.

“There were times that the competitive instincts became a little strong, as will happen when local players play each other, but overall, the hockey was very good”, Stephenson said. “We experimented with a four man reffing system for the finals and had a player meeting before the playoffs and the result was some of the best Midget C hockey you could ever expect to see."